The Vincent Ehindero Blogger Award Nomination!

To Iqra Aqib, the one who nominated me for this award. Thank you for this opportunity! I can see why your blog was nominated for it; your eloquence in writing is impeccable!

Iqra Aqib posts on her blog regularly and every new post of hers varies from the previous one. She writes fiction to poetry to advice pieces that are so beautifully and perfectly put. Not to forget that she’s one of my dearest, kindest and most down-to-earth friends.

To check out Iqra’s blog, click here.


The Rules for this award are:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you with a link to their blog.
  2. Make a post of the award (with a Photo of the Logo).
  3. Post the Rules.
  4. Ask 5 – 10 questions of your choice.
  5. Nominate 10 – 30 other bloggers (or more) and notify them.
  6. Thank the originator of the award who has given us a platform whereby bloggers can be discovered and recognized for the work that they do. Please follow Vincent’s blog here.


Q and A:

1. What inspired you to start your blog?

I can’t quite remember what inspired me to start my blog or that specific ‘inspiring’ moment where my brain just clicked and I went “I’m going to create a writing blog today! WOOHOO!”

It was years ago that I created it, in my teens, an age of which some parts one remembers too vividly and some none at all, and this is among the latter. However, what I do remember is that I’ve always loved books and stories, and thinking up stories and writing them. My mind would always be brimming with all these ideas and creativity, it was quite overwhelming. (Still is). So perhaps I started it to free and give life to all those thoughts that liked to wander around in my head, day in and day out. 🤷🏻‍♀️ My punctuality in doing so, however, can be debated upon.

2. What’s the kindest comment you have received on any of your posts?

Well, this puts me in a bit of a predicament doesn’t it? I have two comments that are the kindest comments that I have ever gotten on any of my blogposts (and the only comments in a very long time), both by the same person, one of my best friends, and I am not embarrassed to say that I can’t choose one from the other:

“Truly heart touching…why are you bringing me to tears Mariyah?” (For what writer doesn’t love it when their words emotionally move their reader, especially an aspiring one).

“ This was so beautiful. There was something calming and so nostalgic about it. You took me back right to the days when things were simpler.” (For what writer doesn’t love it when their words click and remind their reader of something dear to them, especially an aspiring one 🙃)

3. Have you ever experienced any supernatural phenomenon? Do you believe in such things?

I wasn’t aware of and didn’t give a second thought, or any thought for that matter, to the supernatural world until my company introduced a horrible phenomenon called “horror movies” to me and that was the end of it, I couldn’t get them out of my mind, even if I tried. But the reality is that it exists: a dimension where all jinns, angels and spirits live. As for experiencing a supernatural phenomenon, well, I say salaam to the angels sitting on my shoulders every day, 5 times a day. Does that count? O.0

4. Do you blog full time or is this a hobby for you?

For now, this is just a hobby. Although, I do intend to make a living out of my writings, one day Insha’Allah, whether it’s through the means of this blog or some other medium.

5. Do you ever regret any of your posts?

Hmm. Hmmm. Hmmmmmm- haha! No but really, I don’t think I’ve ever regretted any of my posts, for I think long and hard before posting them, sometimes too long and hard, in fact, that I often times don’t even end up posting anything. There was that one post “To the one who left”, which was a letter of advice, farewell and many other things to someone who was once a part of my life, someone who was once close to my heart. I was weary about it, from the process of writing it to posting it to having posted it. But then I reminded myself that where something has even the slightest chance, o.oooooo1% chance, of touching someone’s heart and bringing light into their life, then surely my discomfort can be put at stake for it.


I nominate:

https://thewrittenrevolt.com/

https://thinbrowngirl.wordpress.com

https://crushedcaramel.wordpress.com


Questions for my nominees!

1. What is that one thing that completely changed your perspective towards life? (It could be an event, a phrase that you read or heard during a conversation with someone else, or something that came from your own heart)

2. What is the meaning behind your blog?

3. Do you blog full time or is this a hobby for you? (Taken from Iqra Aqib’s blog)

4. If you could say one helpful thing to the person who is reading this, what would you say?

5. Would you rather have a perfect spring sunny day and have to stay inside or would you rather have a typical cool rainy day and be able to go outside? Why did you choose what you chose?


Thank you to Vincent Ehindero for giving us this opportunity for connecting, writing and being rewarded for it!

3 thoughts on “The Vincent Ehindero Blogger Award Nomination!

  1. Mariyah! Firstly, thank you so so much for your amazing remarks about my blog, it really means a lot to hear you say that. Second, I love your answers to the questions especially the supernatural one, haha I think that saying salaam to the angels on your shoulders would definitely count. Lastly, I absolutely love reading your posts and to anyone reading this comment, Mariyah is such an amazingly talented writers, and of course and amazing friend. You should forsure check out her blog posts

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment